Creating a dynamic pivot table where the value field can be controlled with a dropdown

Hi everyone! I’m new to Quicksight and wanted to know how I can create the a dynamic pivot table where the value field can be adjusted dynamically using a drop down menu selection. For some details, I have a pivot table with the company name and company ID in the rows. The column consists of the months. The values field must display the revenue, etc. However, I have roughly 15 values to show and that would increase the size of the table by a lot, so to reduce that, I’m looking to create a drop-down menu that would allow users to select whatever dimensions they need to compare. Since I’m new, could anyone provide a breakdown of how this can be achieved? I’ve looked through other QnA’s but did not completely understand the steps. Thank you!!

Welcome @rohit_SB
check out the demo central there is sample for your case. Not pivot table but logic will be the same.

https://democentral.learnquicksight.online/#Dashboard-TipsAndTricks-Interactivity-Dynamic-Dimensions-and-Measures

BR

1 Like

Hi @rohit_SB,
We hope the reply from @ErikG worked for you.
If it helped, please help the community by marking the reply as “Solution”, but let us know if this is not resolved. Thanks for posting your question on the QuickSight Community Q&A Forum.
Andrew

1 Like

Thank you @ErikG @abacon . I think this makes sense. Sorry I haven’t had the opportunity to touch base with this project in the last few days but the solution Erik posted makes sense logically.

Hi,
I followed the demoncentral example, I want to build a dropdown list instead of radio box. I have 4 dimensions in the dropdown: Year, Month, Manager and Language. Then I create calculated filed like below, but I got ifelse() syntax error.

ifelse(
${pDimension} = “Year”, {year_id},
${pDimension} = “Month”, {month_id},
${pDimension} = “Manager”, {manager},
${pDimension} = “Language”, {cust_language},
NULL)