QuickSight metrics

I joined Amazon recently and start working on projects to improve by BI team daily activities. By doing that I’m now trying to build metrics for the objects from QuickSight that are managed by my team AWS account, those metrics would be about dashboard and analysis usage, quantity of objects managed, lineage of these objects, etc…

By doing it I start working with two possible solutions, using CloudTrail or CloudWatch. The first one I’m studying the following blog post and would like to have some feedback about it (Building an administrative console in Amazon QuickSight to analyze usage metrics | AWS Big Data Blog). And for the last one, opened the CloudWatch but they show only 15 of 88 dashboards on the metrics and logs.

1 Like

Hello @guilopec, this is definitely something we have seen a few users ask about. That documentation you have for CloudTrail is the best resource I have found with information on using it for QuickSight assets. As for the CloudWatch logs, I am curious as to why only 15 dashboards would be appearing. Is there any chance that those have these options selected in the share dashboard console and the others don’t?

Also, this is a bit of an older topic, but there was some information shared here about some of the ways other users have tried to get more information about dashboard usage.

There still is not a ton of out-of-the-box functionality available for tracking user activities in QuickSight, but I hope this helps!

1 Like

Did this solution work for you? I am marking this reply as, “Solution,” but let us know if this is not resolved. Thanks for posting your questions on the QuickSight Community!

I still didn’t tested yet, but there is a way to enable all dashboards for those access or I would to do manually one by one?

I will perform the test today!

I identified the dashboards that are available on the CloudWatch and they were not necessary enabled as you sent in the screenshot.