First day of a month as start of week

Hello, I’m new to QuickSight.
I have created weekly report/dashboard which displays counts for current week of current month. Counts includes total sales, units sold, sessions etc.
The default week start day is ‘Sunday’ Or we can set custom week start as per new feature of Quicksight https://aws.amazon.com/about-aws/whats-new/2023/11/quicksight-custom-week-start/

Got new requirement from my team.

Can we set week start day based on first day of a month?
for example,
If current month is Dec 2023 and date 1-Dec-2023 which is on Friday. So I should be able to set “week start day” as Friday which applies to whole analysis.
As per QuickSight if default “start of week” is Sunday and Dec 2023 is month, then weeks for dec 2023 are 3-9 dec, 10-16, 17-23, 24-30 dec.

But I want my week should always be from first day of month, if Dec 2023 is current month and weeks will be 1-7 dec, 8-14 dec, 15-21 dec, 22-28 dec,
and 29-31 dec ( not sure about last week, how that will be achieved. Technically last week should be 29-dec to 4-jan, but we are interested in current month data, 29-31 dec looks ok. )
This will help team to keep track of weekly counts for current month easily.

Is it possible to set “week start day” dynamically?

Hello @rahul.kolage,

Welcome to the QuickSight community! Thanks for your question.

You can use calculated fields to adjust the start day of the week. They will all take a similar form, you just adjust the numerical value in the calculation depending on what day you want to start your week.

Some examples can be found here :

https://democentral.learnquicksight.online/#Dashboard-TipsAndTricks-Calculation-Custom-Week-Start-Day

Or you can also create a sample in our QuickSight Arena and we will be able to help you with the calculation.

you can get started with Arena using the following blog:

Thanks,
Sri

Hi @Srikanth_Baheti , Thanks for reply.
Sure, I will check the example and let you know.

Thanks

Hi guys