Do you know how I can sort the values of a pivot table with data in the value field?

hello everyone, do you know how I can sort the values of a pivot table with data in the value field? in the row field box I have no data, neither in the column field, but with data only in the value field, how can I sort them in ascending or descending order?

Can you explain why you need Pivot for this particular visual? At the moment you can’t do it in pivot with just values but you can with table visual. Change the visual type to Table and in the field wells pick the field in values list you would like to sort on, click on drop down arrow to choose the sort option.

1 Like

If I understand your use case - You have a list of KPIs/measures and you would like to show them in a single visual ordered by the the values of these KPIs. Am I correct?

Assuming you don’t learn any better solution (I am new to QuickSight) - I would create a separate dataset with the table of KPIs and values and include them in the Analysis. The schema of the table can be: KPI Name | Value. If you want to filter the KPIs by some dimensions, you would need to add them into that dataset.

if you click the value column in the pivot table visual, you will see a sort option

more details you can find in the QS user guide: Sorting Pivot Tables in Amazon QuickSight - Amazon QuickSight

Hi jjc,
I don’t think the sorting option is available when you switch the Pivot to show Values as Row.

Hi Gil, How did you switch the pivot to show values as row? Do you mean drag a column from the values field to groupby field? Best,JJ

@jjc -
In the Values field well of the Pivot visual, you can toggle between Row and Column as shown here: